The Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis is a constitutional mon-
archy. Our head of state is the Queen of St. Kitts & Nevis who is also Queen of Britain, Canada and a number of other coun- tries around the world. Every act of government is done in the Queen's name but the authority for every act flows from the people of St. Kitts & Nevis. We have a Cabinet responsible to Parliament and a Parliament answerable to the People.

Government impacts on all aspects of our lives and understanding how it works is important to every citizen of St. Kitts & Nevis. This booklet provides a brief overview of the structure and process of our government, the institutions and symbols that represent it, and the people to whom we have entrusted it.

Government HouseTHE QUEEN
Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is the formal head of state of the Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis. She is also the symbolic head of the Commonwealth comprised of St. Kitts & Nevis and fifty-three other former British colonies. Parliament meets only by royal summons and no bills become law without Royal Assent.

The Governor-General is the personal representative of the Queen in St. Kitts & Nevis. He is appointed by Her Majesty on the recommendation of the Prime Minister and performs the functions of the Monarch in her absence including Royal Assent for all bills and authorization of all government appointments.

[ 1 ] | 2 | [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ]